Ready, set, go!

Ready Set GoFor the last 17 years or so, I have been primarily a healthcare writer. A few other topics make an appearance in my portfolio, but healthcare has been the dominant theme for nearly two decades.

And healthcare has been good to me: It was a growing field when I graduated during a major recession and was looking for my first job, and continued to evolve (and therefore keep me employed) for years after. I’ve met a lot of smart, highly talented people who taught me as much as my expensive master’s degree did, and many of them have become great friends.

I’ve always thought about writing fiction though, more so in the last couple of years. So now it’s time to stop thinking and start doing, which is one of the reasons I’m starting this blog.

It’s so easy to get bogged down in the day-to-day responsibilities of a household and kids, not to mention the healthcare writing that I will still continue to do (don’t worry, clients who might be reading this!). My hope is that this blog will remind me to keep up with my non-healthcare writing, and give me an outlet to work through some ideas outside of the more formal realm of my paid work. I’m also hoping that the occasional “Yo, Jules, ’sup with that novel you claimed you were writing?” from you all will keep me on track.

Thus begins my journey to becoming a published fiction writer. I’ve packed sandwiches and extra socks, and now it’s time to hit the road. Wish me luck.

Photo: Courtesy of Rico Shen, Wikimedia Commons

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Ready, set, go!

  1. Way to make it happen! Congratulations – this is the first step!

  2. Emily

    I’m so proud of you. I loved blogging and plan on doing another one soon. It’s a great way to keep you on track. Best of luck on yours and I look forward to reading and your novel too! How exciting.

  3. Hey Jules..sup? Well if anybody can write a darn good fiction, I believe it could be you! You have so many real stories with your kids that crack me up, the fiction is sure to be a stitch! Oh & by the way… Thanks for the shout about meeting me… one of the ‘smart & highly talented’ people!!! Lol! Good luck with your writing & keeping us posted as you go!

  4. Amy

    You go girl! I can’t wait to read your fiction.

  5. Kathryn Nilson

    I’m really excited for you!!! Love, Mom

  6. Wendy Bourque

    Good Luck!! I’m sure you will be fabulous! :)

  7. Woo-hoo! Here’s to taking the first step! I look forward to reading more :)

  8. Jon Nilson

    All the great writers (and all the good ones, too, come to think of it) have two things in common: discipline to keep at it regularly and courage to keep facing the terrors of the blank page (or the blank screen) that sits waiting for your words. Since you’ve got the discipline and the courage, well, look out, world, here you come!

  9. Lisa Sniderman

    What– no teaser about content/theme? Let me guess… student at a Rogers Park Catholic high school has a magic polyester uniform that transforms into an ozone-deflecting space suit by night…

  10. Happy to cheer you on! :-)

  11. Oooooo, this sounds so exciting. First off, thanks for being one of my newest followers on my blog. :-) I’m very glad you found me from Judy Dunn’s site, and therefore, I found you!

    You and I are going through this same journey together, so I can completely relate. My love of writing began as a creative mind, but my degree was in journalism, and my career began as a newspaper reporter. Now, for a company, I am a healthcare writer–like you. However, I’ve recently been turning back to those creative roots and although I still freelance for magazines on the side, I’m putting more of that energy into my first novel. It’s somewhat of a nerve-racking, yet exhilarating feeling, isn’t it? I do wish you best of luck and look forward to seeing what happens! My best advice is to keep an “idea book” in your purse, so as you come across things during the day that might work well in your novel, jot them down so you don’t forget later. It’ll help your story unfold for writing time (that’s worked wonders for me).

    I’ll be keeping up with your blog. :-)
    Shari

    • That’s funny that you should mention the “idea book,” because that was my first step! I’d been thinking about getting back into fiction writing, and when I was at a bookstore they had these pretty little purse-sized notepads by the register. I bought a few as an impulse purchase, and jotting down those first few ideas are what got me going again.

      Best of luck to you, Shari. I look forward to reading about your journey too!

  12. Grace

    It’s exciting to see you take a dream into reality. Look forward to following your journey. :)

    Funny how we both majored in totally different career paths, but end up working for the healthcare industry.

Leave a Reply

