If the Networks Only Listened to Me

I started out the new TV season psyched about a lot of new shows–lots of sci-fi/fantasy/genre shows were on the schedule–but now I’ve only got a few left.

The ones I love:

Revenge: I wasn’t originally planning to watch this, but it got a good review in Entertainment Weekly so I put it on the DVR. I’m really enjoying it–it’s fun and soapy but the storylines are pretty complex and they’re setting up a well thought-out mythology. Plus, the two female leads are killing it, always making us wonder if we should sympathize with them or hate them. Love this one. (On a more shallow note, I think we’re supposed to be digging on Daniel and/or Jack, but I like geeky Nolan. Except when he wears cravats.)

Suburgatory: Funny stuff. This show could have turned out pretty average, but the actors save it. The girls who play Tessa and Lisa are hilarious, and Cheryl Hines has taken a role that could have been a caricature and given her depth. Plus, Alan Tudyk’s orangey spray tan makes me giggle every time he’s on screen.

The ones that are on the bubble for me:

2 Broke Girls: When it’s funny, it’s really, really funny. But sometimes the crass jokes are more crass than joke. The two lead actresses are both good, so I’m hoping the writers find a better rhythm.

The New Girl: Funny so far, but it’s too soon to tell if it’s more than a one-trick pony. Zooey Deschanel’s character could become insufferable if they’re not careful.

Ringer: Gah. I so wanted this to be awesome. I gave it three episodes only because of my goodwill toward SMG (or at least toward Buffy), and just when that ran out, they brought on Jason Dohring (Logan from Veronica Mars). So I’m going to give it a few more eps. But this show could be so much better than it is–it’s just really, realllllly sloooooow. Especially given the premise. I think they’re trying to go for a spooky/creepy/mysterious mood, but it’s just coming off as slow.

Buh-bye:

Pan Am: Split personality. It’s part fun-retro-cool, part spy drama, and part soap. They need to pick one. Or two.  Also, there are so many characters that I don’t find myself caring that much about any of them. They need to pick three or four, focus in on them, and then give us more on the others later. I gave it four eps and then took it off the DVR.

Terra Nova: Another one that I wanted to be awesome, but I never got around to watching any of it. The mister watched the pilot and his reaction was “eh” so I didn’t bother.

Person of Interest: Has anyone else watched this one? I DVR’d a couple of episodes, but never felt compelled to watch them.

The Secret Circle: I watched the pilot and liked it well enough, but it’s on at the same time as something else. I could watch online, but I guess I didn’t like the show enough to bother.

Jury’s still out on Once Upon a Time and Grimm, but I’m going to give those a try. The pilot of Once seemed good.

How about you? What new shows are you liking this season?

Photo: Courtesy of Oliver Kurmis, Wikimedia Commons

13 Comments

Filed under tv

13 responses to “If the Networks Only Listened to Me

  1. Hmm..these must be on cable? Never heard of them. But good reviews on your part. :-)

  2. Ringer has gotten better, thank goodness! I like Once Upon a Time so far. I intend to check out Revenge, American Horror Story & Grimm, but there are only so many hours in a day….

  3. I just don’t want them to do a creepy teacher-student “romance” thingy ala Pretty Little Liars. Ugh.

  4. Jen

    I just set a season pass for Revenge based on my neighbor’s advice…but I don’t know if I can just pick up and start watching with a random one. I might have to see if I can watch the first few online?

    Other than that, I’ve just been reading. Watched a few episodes of Ringer, but it wasn’t for me. I have been recording “The Good Wife”, but for some reason feel like I shouldn’t watch season 3 until I go back and watch all of season 2. This is silly, I know! There’s not enough time in the day!

    • You should probably watch Revenge from the start, or at least every other episode or something. Ringer seems to be improving, but in my case, it’s still getting by on my goodwill toward Buffy and Logan.

  5. I have found a fondness for Ringer….for its cheesiness. Ha.

    Most of the Revenge eps can be found on Hulu.

    I keep hearing that I need to watch American Horror Story…thoughts?

    • I’m told that AHS is reallllllly creeeeeepy. And kinda gory. So if you like horror, you’ll probably like it. I’m a wuss though–I had a hard time getting into Supernatural because of the gore, so I shudder to think what they’re getting away with on cable! Even Connie Britton can’t get me to watch that.

      • I’ve started watching AHS and it is VERY, VERY CREEPY. But good! Connie Britton is wonderful & Jessica Lange is fantastic!

        I’m such a fraidy cat! I’m not a horror fan, but enjoy AHS anyway. (Also, a big Supernatural fan from the beginning.) There is some gore, but I’ve been more, um, startled by other things than the gore.

  6. After catching up on AHS, I hereby post a retraction. I’ve *definitely* been startled by the gore. *shudder*

Leave a Reply

