Blackout!

As much as I’d like to participate in the Internet blackout, I don’t know how to take down my blog for the day. (Well, I do, but I’m not confident that I could get it back up tomorrow!)

So instead, I’m linking you to information about SOPA/PIPA, the legislation that could literally wreck the Internet as we know it. It was initially designed to try and stop Internet piracy, but the bills go too far. Way too far. They eliminate the “due process” and “innocent until proven guilty” system that our government is supposed to be based on.

If you haven’t done so already, contact your senators and representatives and tell them to vote against these bills. Sadly, one of my senators from Illinois, Dick Durbin, is one of the co-sponsors of the bill. He has received hundreds of thousands of dollars in campaign contributions from big media, so don’t think that’s a coincidence. But that didn’t stop me from pestering him anyway. When he loses the next election, I want him to know why.

Leave a comment

Filed under publishing

Leave a Reply

